top of page

HAPPY PEOPLE DON'T DRINK COFFEE by a coffee drinker

The other day, I was having a date at a Café with a happy new friend of mine in which we discuss about life, love, sex, books, films and everything you are supposed to know about each other before bumping into another date or a relationship if that what happens next. And, somehow, the subject of happiness found its way into our conversation. ´Do you consider yourself a happy person?' she asked me. And I, being unable to give her a good response, asked her back, 'what is happiness?' She did not know, neither did I.

Happiness, happiness, how odd it is... but is it scientific? is it something mistic? what the heck it is? Well, I'm afraid to say to say that I have absolutely no idea but, as many of you, I cannot help it but wonder what makes a life happy and how can we achive it. So, based only in personal experiencies, I will intend to clarify the matter of achivable happiness. Just kidding, that is impossible, I will just write a compilation of lies that may help you all feel a little bit better about this world we live in.

Dr. Sood tried to simplify the concept of the subject that concerns us, writing, "happiness is deep sustained fullfilment from living a good, virtuous and meaningful life". Though what he is saying is nice and, one might think, pretty down to earth, I disagree. Happiness is in no way logical or simple and, therefore, cannot be reduced to such a basic statement. I am more of the idea that it doesn't really exist - yes, you can (and probably will) expirience moments of joy, pleasure and contentment but... That is as far as we can get.

A problem may be not being able to get nor even close to that feeling - believe me, I do understand, it is hard not being sad in a setting such as ours. But there usually is something that can be done about it. And below I will list a few of the things that are supposed to help you get through this life in a favorable way, which will allow you to lie to, you know, yourself and say - or worse, believe that you have a happy life.

1. accept the fact that you are sad, we all are - even if some don't fancy admiting it. In fact, some intellectuals are actually researching about it: us, humans, being the depressive animals.

2. do not drink coffee, for real: just don't do it. Ask someone who seem happy out, take them to a Café and you will see it by yourself: they will ask for hot chocolate or whatever that comes to their happy minds. This one, must I admit, it's not yet comprobated. But sad people drink loads and loads of coffee so it may have sense, according to my great scientific skills.

3. get out, get the hell out of what makes you unhappy. I am not promising pure joy, no, I am telling you to stop making yourself unhappier. If it is your job, star looking for another one; if it is about your studies, change them; if it is about your partner(s), dump them. Why not.

Just try to be happy or whatever, you do you.


bottom of page